ESMT Annual Forum


Corporation 2050: Building to last, leading to adapt

July 3, 2014

9:00 – 10:00 a.m.                   Registration and networking breakfast
10:00 – 11:15 a.m.

Opening remarks and keynotes
Keynotes will set the stage on future scenarios related to business and the workforce, expectations with respect
to transformative processes, and the role that sustainability and technology will play in this context.

Opening remarks

  • Prof. Jörg Rocholl, PhD
    President and EY Chair in Governance and Compliance, ESMT
  • Michael Diekmann
    Chairman of the Board of Management, Allianz


  • Dr. Kurt Bock
    Chairman of the Board of Executive Directors, BASF
  • Peter Bakker
    President, World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD)
11:45 – 1:00 p.m.

Panel discussion “Business trends and technology”
The high-level panel discussion will bring together global thinkers to examine business innovation and
exchange insights in these areas.

  • Peter Bakker
    President, World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD)
  • Dr. Theo Freye
    Spokesman of the Executive Board, CLAAS
  • Jayant Kohale
    Area Vice President and Country Manager (Germany), Larsen and Toubro
  • Frank Riemensperger
    Geographic Senior Managing Director for Germany, Switzerland and Austria, Accenture
  • Prof. Jörg Rocholl, PhD
    President and EY Chair in Governance and Compliance, ESMT

Introduction: Prof. CB Bhattacharya, PhD
Moderator: Gerrit Wiesmann, Journalist

1:00 – 2:00 p.m.Networking lunch with special thanks to GAZPROM Germania
2:00 – 3:30 p.m.

Concurrent interactive sessions
The interactive sessions offer a marketplace inspiring inputs and give participants the chance to
explore ideas about business, leadership, and technology. Participants will also have the chance to
develop and share hypotheses about trends and possible responses at the individual and
organizational levels.

Each session, which lasts about 30 minutes, will run three times in a row, enabling each participant to
engage in three different topics. Participants will have the opportunity to share their insights on Twitter
and on pinboards. They are invited to choose their three favorite topics and to actively participate in the

  • Energy and transport in 2050 – Will we overcome the nexus between energy consumption and
    economic growth?

    Dr. Jens Weinmann
  • Future of banks? Will we still need banks in 2050?
    Prof. Guillermo Baquero, PhD
  • Markets for Technology – Is the patent system broken?
    Prof. Dr. Stefan Wagner
  • The future 50 years ago
    Katja Leppler and Veronika Naumann
  • The manager of the future
    Dr. Kirsten Fischer
  • The quest for happiness
    Shirish Pandit
  • The skills for the future – A look at the skills individuals may employ by 2050
    Dr. Franziska Frank
  • Wall Street in 2050
    Prof. CB Bhattacharya, PhD
  • What elite athletes can teach managers about innovation and strategy
    Prof. Joe Peppard, PhD
4:00 – 5:15 p.m.

Panel discussion “Leading into the future”
During the afternoon panel discussion, international opinion leaders and European board members will debate
“Leading into the future.” Will today’s leadership practices serve well to take companies into a desirable future?
Do we need to rethink how leaders are selected and prepared for future challenges? What will organizational
leaders of the future be like? Which roles can – and must – business education play in preparing for the future?

  • Jürgen Fitschen
    Co-Chief Executive Officer, Deutsche Bank
  • Prof. Konstantin Korotov, PhD
    Associate Professor & Director of the Center for Leadership Development Research (CLDR), ESMT
  • David B. Peterson, PhD
    Director, Coaching & Leadership, Google
  • Dr. Johannes Teyssen
    Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, E.ON

Moderator: Ali Aslan, Television host and journalist

5:30 – 6:15 p.m.

ESMT Responsible Leadership Award

ESMT will award this year's ESMT Responsible Leadership Award to the President of the European Council, Herman Van Rompuy.

Wolfgang Ischinger, Global Head of Government Relations at Allianz and Chairman of the Munich Security Conference will hold the laudatory speech.

The ESMT Responsible Leadership Award is bestowed annually and honors a person demonstrating extraordinary leadership in promoting responsible business practices. Recent recipients have been N. R. Narayana Murthy (2010), Güler Sabancı (2011), Mario Monti (2012), and Mario Draghi (2013).

6:15 – 7:00 p.m.Evening reception with special thanks to INFOSYS